The 2019 Golden Ear Awards

 NW Recording of the Year

Marina Albero, A Life Soundtrack

NW Acoustic Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Kate Olson’s KO Ensemble

Alternative Jazz Group of the Year

Comfort Food

NW Concert of the Year

Kiki Valera y su Son Cubano, October 26, Town Hall Seattle

NW Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Marina Albero

Emerging Artist of the Year

Kelsey Mines

NW Vocalist of the Year

Jacqueline Tabor

Inducted into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame

Michael Brockman
Suzanne Weghorst
Gary Bannister

Past Winners

2022202120202019201820172016 2015 20142013 • 2012 • 2011 • 2010 • 2009 • Hall of Fame

On the evening of April 4, 2020, Earshot Jazz presented the annual Golden Ear & Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame Awards, the annual event recognizing the achievements of the vibrant jazz community in Seattle. This year however, the evening was presented under extraordinary circumstances. With the community in a statewide stay at home order due to the COVID-19 outbreak, Earshot found a way to continue this tradition via livestream, including two live sets broadcast from The Forum at Town Hall by the Marino Albero Trio. 

Each year, the Golden Ear awards give jazz fans an opportunity to vote for the outstanding musicians, community members and events of the previous year. A call for nominations goes out in January, with a public ballot then distributed by the Earshot Jazz website and publication.

We congratulate all the nominees in this annual look at the region’s vibrant jazz ecology, and thank you, Golden Ear voters, for your participation in recognizing and celebrating all of the incredible talent in the Northwest.

About the Golden Ear Awards

Earshot Jazz initiated the Golden Ear Awards in 1990 to recognize the accomplishments of Seattle jazz artists over the previous year, and to induct significant members of the jazz community into the local Jazz Hall of Fame. Over the years, the award categories have shifted slighty, but the essence of the process has remained the same.

Have someone you’d like to nominate for the next Golden Ear Awards?

Proudly Sponsored by: