2021 Golden Ear Awards


Golden Ear Awardees photo by Lisa Hagen Glynn

Back Row: Dave Holden, Jr., Geoff Harper, D’Vonne Lewis, Eric Verlinde, Thomas Marriott
Middle Row: Darelle Holden, Xavier Lecouturier, Jay Thomas, Ari Joshua
Front Row: Marina Albero, Ann Reynolds, Greta Matassa

All photos within this piece by Lisa Hagen Glynn

Each year, the Golden Ear Awards recognizes and celebrates the outstanding achievements of the previous year in Seattle jazz. The community came together March 14 for an incredible evening to honor this year’s recipients. Our deepest thanks to D’Vonne Lewis Limited Edition for performing the opening set, the amazing Alex Dugdale for emceeing the night, Thomas Marriott for hosting the late-set jam session, to all who voted, and to our community for showing up and helping us celebrate this beautiful scene of ours together. Special thanks to Lisa Hagen Glynn for capturing wonderful photos of the award’s festivities on the following pages. Nominations for the 2022 are accepted year-round at nominations@earshot.org.

Rayna Mathis and Alex Dugdale
D’Vonne Lewis Limited Edition
Trevor Ford, D’Vonne Lewis, Marina Albero and Jeff Johnson
Abe Beeson congratulates Ann Reynolds
Elnah Jordan
Paul Rauch congratulates Marina Albero

2021 Golden Ear Award Recipients

NW Recording of the Year

Ann Reynolds

Inspired by Women Composers, Ann Reynolds

NW Acoustic Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Marina Albero

Marina Albero Trio

Alternative Jazz Group of the Year

Ari Joshua

Ari Joshua Band

NW Concert of the Year

Xavier Lecouturier and Marina Albero

Marina Albero Trio w/ Ganesh Rajagopalan

NW Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

D’Vonne Lewis

D’Vonne Lewis

Emerging Artist of the Year:

Xavier Lecouturier

Xavier Lecouturier

NW Vocalist of the Year:

Greta Matassa

Greta Matassa

Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame:

Geoff Harper

Geoff Harper, Marv Thomas, and Oscar Holden

Community in Action Awards:

Thomas Marriott

Thomas Marriott, Seattle Jazz Fellowship

Owl ‘N Thistle for Tuesday Night Jams 

Seattle Jazz Legacy Award

Darelle Holden and Dave Holden Jr,

The Holden Family


Posted on

March 28, 2022