The Golden Ear Awards 2016

Award recipients (top row) Bill Anschell, Kate Voss, Birch Pereira, Alex Dugdale, (bottom row) Julian Priester, Dawn Clement, and Mark Taylor. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Inducted into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame

Bill Anschell
Jay Clayton

NW Recording of the Year

Birch Pereira & the Gin Joints, Dream Man

NW Acoustic Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Anton Schwartz Quintet

Alternative Jazz Group of the Year

Happy Orchestra

NW Concert of the Year

Dawn Clement & Mark Taylor’s LineUp! featuring Julian Priester, Ballard Jazz Festival, May 13

NW Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Dmitri Matheny

Emerging Artist of the Year

Alex Dugdale

NW Vocalist of the Year

Kate Voss

Special Awards

Jim Knapp
In recognition that his forward-thinking work in jazz education has helped to shape Seattle’s jazz legacy

Julian Priester
In recognition that Seattle’s jazz history is embellished by his distinguished legacy

Past Winners

2022202120202019201820172016 2015 20142013 • 2012 • 2011 • 2010 • 2009 • Hall of Fame

The 2016 Golden Ear Awards, celebrating the contributions and achievements in Seattle jazz, were presented at The Royal Room on March 13. The 200 Trio – Cole Schuster on guitar, Greg Feingold on bass, and Max Holmberg on drums – opened the evening, and jazz radio broadcaster Jim Wilke emceed the award ceremony.

Each year, the Golden Ear awards give jazz fans an opportunity to vote for the outstanding musicians, community members and events of the previous year. A call for nominations goes out in January, with a public ballot then distributed by the Earshot Jazz website and publication. Nearly 2,000 votes were cast this year.

We congratulate all the nominees in this annual look at the region’s vibrant jazz ecology, and thank you, Golden Ear voters, for your participation in recognizing and celebrating all of the incredible talent in the Northwest.

The 200 Trio opens the night with a set of standards and originals. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Dawn Clement (with baby Della), Julian Priester, and Mark Taylor accept the award for Concert of the Year. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Alex Dugdale accepts the award for Emerging Artist of the Year. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Vocalist of the Year Kate Voss. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Bill Anschell was voted into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.


About the Golden Ear Awards

Earshot Jazz initiated the Golden Ear Awards in 1990 to recognize the accomplishments of Seattle jazz artists over the previous year, and to induct significant members of the jazz community into the local Jazz Hall of Fame. Over the years, the award categories have shifted slighty, but the essence of the process has remained the same.

Have someone you’d like to nominate for the next Golden Ear Awards?

Proudly Sponsored by: