2016 Golden Ear Awards Ballot

, ,

2015 Golden Ear Award winners. Photo by Daniel Sheehan.

Cast your ballot by March 8!

Each year, the Golden Ear Awards recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of the previous year in Seattle jazz. In the process, Seattle jazz fans and performers can take stock of and show gratitude for the region’s vibrant jazz ecology. The awards are determined by a combination of nominations and popular vote. Nominees this year were selected by a poll of Earshot Jazz readers, jazz performers, audience members, journalists, and industry professionals. There are eight Golden Ear Award categories, including induction into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame.

Please vote online at earshot.org, by email to [email protected], or mail your selections to Earshot Jazz, 3429 Fremont Pl. N., #309, Seattle, WA 98103, by March 8.

2016 NW Recording of the Year

B’shnorkestra, Global Concertos (self-released) [Listen here]
Birch Pereira & The Gin Joints, Dream Man (self-released) [Listen here]
Rik Wright’s Fundamental Forces, Subtle Energy (HipSync Records) [Listen here]
Thomas Marriott & Ray Vega, Return of The East‑West Trumpet Summit (Origin Records) [Listen here]
The Westerlies, The Westerlies (Songlines) [Listen here]
Other _________________________

2016 NW Concert of the Year

Brian Blade Fellowship Band, Seattle Art Museum, Feb. 26
Photo by Daniel Sheehan

LineUp! featuring Julian Priester, Ballard Jazz Festival, May 13
Photo by Jim Levitt

Renée Baker with guests, Chapel Performance Space, Oct. 28
Photo by Michael Craft

SOUL SPACE, V2, Oct. 27-29
Photo by Michael Craft

Mo’ Jam Mondays 3rd Anniversary show w/ Marina Albero & Thomas Marriott, Nectar Lounge, Dec. 12
Photo courtesy of Mo’ Jam Presents


Other _________________________

2016 NW Acoustic Ensemble

Anton Schwartz Quintet [Learn more]
B’shnorkestra [Learn more]
Jacob Zimmerman Quintet [Learn more]
LineUp! Mark Taylor & Dawn Clement [Learn more]
Panama Hotel Jazz Ensemble [Learn more]
Other _________________________

2016 NW Alternative Group

Happy Orchestra [Learn more]
KO Ensemble [Learn more]
Rik Wright’s Fundamental Forces [Learn more]
Skerik’s Bandalabra [Learn more]
The Westerlies [Learn more]
Other _________________________

2016 NW Emerging Artist

Alex Dugdale [Learn more]
Birch Pereira [Learn more]
Delvon Lamarr [Learn more]
Ivan Arteaga [Learn more]
Jason Goessl [Learn more]
Other _________________________

2016 NW Instrumentalist of the Year

Bill Anschell [Learn more]
Dmitri Matheny [Learn more]
Kate Olson [Learn more]
Tarik Abouzied [Learn more]
Tim Kennedy [Learn more]
Other _________________________

2016 NW Vocalist of the Year

Carrie Wicks [Learn more]
Eugenie Jones [Learn more]
Gail Pettis [Learn more]
Kate Voss [Learn more]
LaVon Hardison [Learn more]
Other _________________________

2016 Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame

For a list of Seattle Jazz Hall of Famers, go to earshot.org/hall-of-fame/

Bill Anschell [Learn more]
Bob Hammer [Learn more]
Casey MacGill [Learn more]
Jay Clayton [Learn more]
Skerik [Learn more]
Other _________________________

You’re Invited!

Join us Monday, March 13, at The Royal Room in Columbia City for the Golden Ear Awards Ceremony. The 200 Trio (Max Holmberg, drums, Greg Feingold, upright bass, Cole Schuster, guitar) get the night going at 6pm, with the awards ceremony beginning at 7pm. Then, stick around after the ceremony for Ryan Keberle’s Catharsis.

We look forward to seeing you there!


Posted on

January 25, 2017